Recipes and Lists

Yes, I will admit that I haven’t posted anything since the new year. I have been diligently working on my husband’s business and weighing the possibility of starting my own business, so I haven’t had time to update as I wanted to.

However, I did want to share with you a wonderful new site that I was turned on to by another blog I frequent. The site is called “Say Mmmm” and is turning out to be an interesting solution to my monthly meal planning dilemma. It allows you to plan for a whole month at a time, including whether you will eat out at any particular point (and allows you to include the restaurant and how much you generally pay there) to help you budget your costs.

I have been inspired today to add a really good Super Bowl recipe. Not because I watch that awful excuse for air time, but because I enjoy the snack foods associated. It’s a favorite recipe I make my husband and I when we are really desperate for pizza, but don’t want to consume a day’s worth of calories in a single bite. While it’s not a large pizza, it is very tasty and you don’t feel the need to eat the whole thing like I often find myself doing with a larger pizza. The herbs are mixed into the crust, which makes it tastier than it might be otherwise. It’s definitely worth a try! We got it out of a magazine subscription to Taste of Home magazine–I received it as a gift at my bridal shower. (By the way, that is a GREAT present to give some young lady or gentleman for their upcoming nuptials. We have LOVED ours!)


Ingredients
* 1 package (1/4 ounce) active dry yeast
* 1 cup warm water (110° to 115°)
* 2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
* 2 tablespoons olive oil
* 1 tablespoon sugar
* 2 teaspoons Italian seasoning
* 1/2 teaspoon salt
* 3/4 pound Italian turkey sausage links, thinly sliced (we use “tube” turkey sausage–it’s much cheaper and just as good!)
* 1 can (14-1/2 ounces) Italian diced tomatoes, undrained
* 2 cups fresh baby spinach
* 6 slices reduced-fat provolone cheese, halved

Directions
* In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in water. Add the flour, oil, sugar, Italian seasoning and salt; beat on medium speed for 3 minutes or until smooth.
* Turn onto a lightly floured surface; knead until smooth and elastic, about 5-6 minutes. Place in a bowl coated with cooking spray, turning once to coat the top. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour.
* Punch dough down; divide in half. On a floured surface, roll each portion into a 13-in. circle. Transfer to two 12-in. pizza pans coated with cooking spray. Build up edges slightly. Prick dough thoroughly with a fork. Bake at 425° for 5-8 minutes or until edges are lightly browned.
* Meanwhile, in a large nonstick skillet, cook sausage over medium heat until no longer pink; drain. Place tomatoes in a food processor; cover and pulse until finely chopped.
* Spread tomatoes over crusts; layer with spinach, sausage and provolone cheese. Bake at 425° for 8-12 minutes or until crusts and cheese are lightly browned. Yield: 2 pizzas (8 slices each).

Nutrition Facts: 2 slices equals 314 calories, 12 g fat (4 g saturated fat), 39 mg cholesterol, 729 mg sodium, 34 g carbohydrate, 2 g fiber, 17 g protein. Diabetic Exchanges: 2 starch, 2 lean meat, 1 vegetable, 1/2 fat.

Click here for the printable grocery list. The list includes Asiago cheese–but I rarely add it. If you want to try it, mix it into the dough in the first step. My husband doesn’t really like it, so I don’t add it.

About Mouthy (The Alpha Nerdess)

I live in a small home with a small yard. Despite this, I have the heart of a homesteader. We do what we can to grow, manage, and treat our food cycle with respect for the Earth and for ourselves.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

