Chicken, Chicken, Everywhere…and Way Too Much to Eat

I like chicken. From a money saving standpoint, chicken can be very economical. If you get it on sale, it can be a wonderful way to feed your family a nutritious meal without breaking any piggy banks. In my quest to make more of what my husband and I have, I decided to pick up a roaster chicken on sale for $.69 a pound at a super-duper coupon sale. From this 8lb roaster chicken, I was able to make:

8 chicken dinners (adding rice, potatoes, veggies, etc. as side dishes)
4 quarts of homemade chicken noodle soup (boil the bones and use the stock to make soup by adding veggies and noodles)
4 cups of frozen, shredded chicken for future use

Now, the best part was how I stumbled upon cooking this beats of a bird. I have never cooked a turkey. I had never cooked a chicken. Honestly, I didn’t even know that chickens had much more than wings, breasts, and drumsticks. After some internet perusing, I managed to find a couple of videos that helped me understand how to take out the chicken innards (really, not too bad, since they’re all in a bag inside the chicken cavity) and how to prep the chicken for cooking.

My wonderful husband de-gutted (I am sure the is a correct word for this act, but I don’t know it, so “de-gutting” will be used here) the chicken of it’s giblets-in-a-bag. He thenk cut all the skin and fat off the chicken for me, since I hate skin and fat on anything I eat. (He said he enjoyed doing this, mind you, with my super-strong kitchen shears and a sharp knife.) He also sprayed the inside of the slow cooker for me (you’ll need a big slow cooker for this one–we have a big oval one) and plopped the now-naked bird inside. No wing tying, etc. necessary.

Now, season as you find appropriate. I used some cumin, some paprika, salt, pepper, onion powder (I didn’t have any real onions) garlic powder, and some cloves tossed in around the bird. Don’t worry about any liquid as the bird will make its own juices. Pop the lid on and turn that baby on to low for 8 hours or high for 4-5 (depending on the size of your bird, you may need longer or shorter time frames). Our bird came with a pop-up timer, so we knew when it was done. Make SURE you use a meat thermometer to check the done-ness of the bird so you all don’t get sick. Hospital bills are not good ways to save money!

Our bird was falling apart by the end of the 5th hour. I went to take it out of the slow cooker and the meat fell off the bones. It ended up being alot more meat that I had planned, and I needed to use pie dishes to hold it all–2 of them! 🙂

Enjoy your bird cooking!

About Mouthy (The Alpha Nerdess)

I live in a small home with a small yard. Despite this, I have the heart of a homesteader. We do what we can to grow, manage, and treat our food cycle with respect for the Earth and for ourselves.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

